Overland Park Arboretum Birding Walk

So these are days that I am trying to keep myself engaged with activities that I always wanted to but couldn’t in the past or may be the right word would be the lack of motivation. But now the lack of motivation thing is all history and I am trying to make sense out of all the leisure time I’ve got by learning new stuffs to keep my brain going and of course have lot of fun in the process. I got myself going with the Piano lessons and finally started playing with the color pencils and using the sketch book that I bought from India the first time I left the country which was almost 3 years back. Now very recently, I started observing birds and learning more about them. I guess the reason for this new found interest initially was just an excuse to spend more time in the outdoor. But I am really into birding now. I get absorbed watching them and they really feed my ability to focus.

This is probably my first bird walk with some bunch of passionate people who’ve been birding for more than two decades now. The place is called Overland Park Arboretum. We walked in the woods from 8:00AM for almost 4 hours trying to spot the birds. This was my first time using a proper binocular for birding which I must say took time getting used to. While guys observed the birds through their binoculars admiring their colors and the texture of the feathers, I was still having some tough time managing to spot them through my binocular. The group was a clique with people who were really sweet. They spoke about their initial days when they started birding and enlightened me with some knowledge that a beginner like me who’s just getting started with the hobby should be aware off. I thoroughly enjoyed the walk. We spotted almost forty different colorful birds of which most of them I hadn’t seen before.

trying to spot American Goldfinch

Here’s the list –

Canada Goose, Mallard, Turkey Vulture, Cooper’s Hawk, Red-shouldered Hawk, Rock Pigeon (Feral Pigeon), Mourning Dove, Red-bellied Woodpecker, Downy Woodpecker, Red-eyed Vireo, Red-eyed Vireo , Blue Jay, American Crow, Tree Swallow, Black-capped Chickadee, Tufted Titmouse, White-breasted Nuthatch, Carolina Wren, Blue-gray Gnatcatcher, Ruby-crowned Kinglet, Eastern Bluebird, American Robin, Brown Thrasher, Louisiana Waterthrush, Nashville Warbler, Northern Parula, Yellow-rumped Warbler, Chipping Sparrow, Field Sparrow, Dark-eyed Junco, White-crowned Sparrow, Northern Cardinal, Indigo Bunting, Red-winged Blackbird, Eastern Meadowlark, Common Grackle, Brown-headed Cowbird, American Goldfinch, House Sparrow

While I was busy trying to spot the bird using the binocular that I loaned from our guide, I didn’t click many snaps. Some of them are below

Cardinal
Eastern Blue Bird
Chipping Sparrow

spotting Louisiana Waterthrush

With some guidance from our guide for the walk, Mike Stoakes, I just bought Vortex Optics Crossfire II (10×42) roof prism binocular. Super excited to use it in the outdoors.

I have couple of one day birding hikes coming up this month. Should be fun.

2 thoughts on “Overland Park Arboretum Birding Walk

Leave a Reply

